Monday, September 1, 2008

Dravid to play in Buchi Babu:

Rahul Dravid will play for Karnataka in the Buchi Babu All-India invitation tournament to be held in Chennai from September 2 to 19. The tournament, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association's curtain-raiser to 2008-09, will enter its 99th year this season.

It is likely the Buchi Babu tournament, which consists of three-day games, will see more national players this year since the postponement of the Champions Trophy has left a gap in the international calendar. Also, the Indian board wanted its top players to play in key domestic tournaments and participate in a preparatory camp ahead of the four-Test series against Australia starting in Bangalore on October 9.

C Raghu, the offspinning allrounder, who scored 359 and picked up nine wickets from seven Ranji matches last season, will lead the Karnataka side in the tournament that will also include an Andhra Cricket Association side captained by Gnaneswara Rao.

Karnataka squad Rahul Dravid, KB Pawan (wk), CB Karthik, V Cheluvaraj, Deepak Chougule, Amit Verma, Sunil Raju, Udit Patel, Ryan Ninan, NC Aiyappa, KP Appanna, S Aravind, Raju Bhatkal, Devraj Patil, Akshay.

Andhra Cricket Association Gnaneswara Rao, AG Pradeep, Prasad Reddy, V Manoj Sai, DR Chowdary, Dasi Prabhu Kiran, ASK Varma, Bodapati Sumanth, Sameer Ali Khan, M Dinesh Kumar, P Vijay Kumar, D Kalyankrishna, GV Sharath Babu, YL Kishore, M Suresh, K Ravi Shankar.

1 comment:

  1. Apparently, it didn't go very well for our friend. Dravs scored 2. For once, I don't think this is very good news. :(